8 weeks off of Effexor ( Venlafaxine XR 75 mg)

I can’t believe I’ve been off of it for 8 weeks already! I’m still down 30 lbs- I’ve seemed to have hit a plateau. That’s ok, I’ll be making some changes I will describe below that should get things back on track.

Symptoms? Yes. Still.

Only things I’m really dealing with (and I say dealing loosely because it’s debilitating at times ) MIGRAINES! Never in my life did I deal with chronic headaches but I tell you, I can’t seem to go one day without them now. These migraines are accompanied by auras (trails and or colors in peripheral vision) and the weirdest freaking feelings in my head that sky rocket my anxiety into thinking I’m having a stroke or something awful.

For example- the other day I was sitting on my couch and it felt like rain drops were falling on my head and dropping down my scalp so it’s like a static-y feeling sometimes it runs across like a shooting star- other times it’s a localized spot that experiences pulsating feelings.

Since I have done an MRI and MRA and both came back fine by doctor says these feelings must be stress/anxiety related. Unfortunately anxiety can be so scary because our minds are so powerful. So so powerful. The more I focus on my headache the worse it gets. The more attention I give to the static sensations the more they come.

So my advice? Relax. Yes, I am with you. I know the side effects are real… Even after 56 days in still getting them. The dizziness, occasional nausea and headaches. I know. I deal with it daily but it’s getting better and I know it will be done soon.

so here is my focus

I need to be as healthy as possible! We all do! So make a lifestyle change. As of now, I am replacing one meal with home made juices or smoothies. I use vegetables such as carrots, kale, cucumber and accompany them with some fruits like apples and strawberries… Do research and find the recipe that works best for you.

Don’t forget to add chia seeds, flax seeds and other great accoutrement that will add health benefits as well as curb your appetite.

I’m also attempting to exercise daily even if it’s just a 30 minute walk.

What are you doing to put the withdrawal at bay?

Leave a Reply

